Product: Lowes Fence Installation Clear all filters (62 of 62 reviews match)
Filter by rating
filters
Seller:
Show
State:
Show
City:
Show
Product:

Lowes - Too many materials ordered not accurately measured

1.0
Details
We went with Lowe’s to install our fence. Brian the guy that came out. Did not get an accurate measurement, just estimated on length I’m guessing because he ordered way too many materials. We are now stuck with because we tried calling, texting and emailing him and lowes with no answers for the abundance of left over materials laying in our back yard. The contracted company was great. Lowes is the one taking people’s money and ordering too many materials and charging too much. If you want a fence pick someone else.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1630013

Did you ever think of actually going into the store with your receipts and a list of the left over materials? You'll have a lot better luck standing in front of the store manager and explaining your situation than you will over the phone or e-mailing. Some things are best done In person.

Review
#1448443 Review #1448443 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation

Lowes in Louisville, Kentucky - Lowe’s scam

1.4
Details
I hired Lowe's to replace the wooden door of my dry way with a new vinyl. They came to finish the work on the scheduled date 11/20/18 the work was half done and very bad to see after a month still the doors do not have a latch, the wind has done some damage, and had to move my dog My brother's house escaped twice. I have communicated with the customer service four times and they only tell me that I should keep waiting. for the price that I already paid them, they should provide much better service but it seems that they have no intention of finishing my work, in the end they charged in advance. It is really very worrying that large and established companies like Lowe's are also committing to scam their clients with many chances that their scams go unpunished. Be very careful with Lowe's they do not respect their customers
View full review
Review
#1430821 Review #1430821 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation

Lowes in Beverly, Massachusetts - Worse Experience Ever.Stay Away

2.7
Details

Update by user Nov 27, 2018

Sorry for some of the typos was so pissed typing this on my cell phone .

Original review posted by user Nov 27, 2018

WARNING STAY AWAY. after a couple of high estimates decided to go with Lowes in danvers Ma.they were a little less for the same fencing the others sell. this project is on going for 4 months, it should of been done in a month it took the vendor for ever to show up and Lowes never stayed on top their Vendor to make them finish the job....after a long while they came and installed one side ran out of materials because of bad measurements, it took 2 weeks to get more fence materials and a while again for their vendor to come back out to do the other side . on 11- 18 vendor caame back out and started the other side they ran out of material again due to incorrect measurements by 2 Feet now the job is held up again Total time 4 months and counting .The vendor always comes when we are going to have a big rain shower the day beofe or after . this visit the day of a big rain storm . now its setting and need to be fixed ...Lowes Never did their job efficient I complained to numerous people at the corporate office that handles installed stuff and the local store in Danvers Ma.still 4 months later and counting. Sorry to Say, Stay Away From Lowes Installs .there just isn't enough space tl list whatavbad experience this turn out to be my wife and I are so Disgusted with Lowes and Stress over all this ....paying for something that turned out Bad.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1604785

Usually estimates for fencing will specify how many feet of fencing will be installed. Was theirs the lowest bid because they were providing less fence in their bid?

Review
#1409197 Review #1409197 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation

Lowes in Langhorne, Pennsylvania - Do not choose Lowe's for your fence

1.8
Details
We moved into our home which already had a partial vinyl privacy fence installed, therefore we only had to install additional 74 feet of fence to make it fully enclosed. First, the crew consisted of 2 men whoe acted like this was their first day of doing any type of labor. The one guy wore basketball shots and sneakers. Also, we could not communicate with each other since they spoke no English. They then used a small shovel that looked like a kids toy to dig out the holes for the fence post. It took them almost 11 hours to finish, it was dark when they finished so I couldn't fully see the finished product until the next day. The next day I noticed how poor of a job they did: 1. The fence and the gate was crooked. 2. They ovepoured cement at one of the posts. 3. There were at least 2 posts in which they did not pour at the back of the posts so it was flimsy, and could make the fence fall over. 4. They poorly cut the fence panel that was inserted between the new and old fence. When I called the contractor, he came out, looked and basically thought nothing was wrong. The two men who did the fence did come out and tried to fix what they needed to. But in the end the entire fence needs to be redone. It was poorly done. I definitely would not recommend doing any type of fencing with Lowe's, do not waste your money, because in the end you are going to end up redoing everything!
View full review
Review
#1382474 Review #1382474 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

Lowes in Largo, Florida - Getting a fence installation

My wife and I went through Lowes to have a fence installed to our new house. The initial person that met us to do a estimate was a Lowes employee, he gave an estimate of a pressure treated to a composite. Both were expensive, we went with pressure treated. They outsource to contractors who are not under skilled, for example they did a poor job on securing the caps to the post, after 2 weeks some of the caps would fall fall. The worst thing was the created a mess on our neighbors yard and Lowes was liable for fixing the problems in the yard, patches and mounds of dirt from them digging post etc. For some unknown reason now, they have closed out our account despite the fact that we would pay our account with them on time. We were never late paying our bill with Lowes. Now they have gotten to the point of send negative reports to credit score companies. Be careful dealing with this company, despite paying your bill on time with them they can close out your account without any notification!
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1587699

Lowes is not responsible for the credit card company closing your account. You probably lapsed on payments or most likely didn't use the card for a while.

Nor are they fully responsible for the mess the contractor leaves. If you have a problem with the contractor you can call customer care.

I do agree with the other comment though. Something is missing here

Anonymous
#1579659

Something is missing from this story.

View more comments (1)
Review
#1380701 Review #1380701 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

Don't trust lowes to do a fence install right, that was my mistake!!!

I was getting quotes for a fence, Lowes was not the best priced, but they would pull the permit which I did not have time to do. When we signed the agreement I asked how close to the road the fence could go? I was told they would get all that information and pull the permit. I asked if they guaranteed it would be put in the right spot as we live on a state road. They assured me that it would. Installation day arrives and I ask where does the fence have to go? He says he was told to put it right up against the telephone poles!!! I know that can't be right so I call Lowes. They said the electric company never called them back so it is ok. Well my husband works for a communication company and knows that you are not allowed to put anything up against the pole. So I said pull back 3 ft and get that ok'd with the woman in the installation dept at Lowes and away they go installing. they finished in 1 day ( 21 panels ) was told it would take more than 1 day. but what ever. The very next day the woman in the installation dept calls and says that the electric company just called and said that it is a state road and you have to be 10 feet off the road with your fence. Well then I say you better come out and move it. in the contract it says they are responsible for all ordinance's and regulations, rules etc.. (Again why I went with them in the first place). She says oh no that is your problem. We can send someone out to move it for another $2800.00 I fought all the way to district manager Paul who was the rudest SOB !! basically dared me to take him to court and snickered. I hired an independent contractor to move the fence. When he dug it up the Lowes contractor had cut off the post and only buried less than 2 ft down. ( not Code) Dont' trust Lowes to do their job, and don't trust the their contractors to do the install correct. ***
View full review
Review
#1370513 Review #1370513 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$2800
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Lowes in Goshen, Indiana - Steven darling..fence contractor damages home

1.0
Details
Over 2 years now trying to get the over 27,000.00 Lowe’s owes me due to a contractor damaging my home. I paid them 17,000.00 to install a fence and contractor hit sewer line causing over 50K damage to inside of home. Steven darling is impolite won’t return calls emails or any contact and corporate help says I must deal with claims. Steven is the claims examiner assigned. Is there anyone who can assist?!?!?
View full review
5 comments
Anonymous
#1589872

Same. I've been trying to recoup losses for a while now as well.

Try his email- Steve.d.darling@lowes.com. Good Luck- you will need it.

Anonymous
#1576638

800-775-6937 ask for steven's supervisor

Anonymous
#1576663
@lostbear

Have called numerous times. I was told he “doesn’t have a supervisor”.

Called corporate And asked for An email Or number to talk to whomever is in charge of the insurance department. They told me they don’t have that information but they would pass a message along. I got a one line email from Steven. He said I’m told you’re trying to get ahold of me.

I answered and explained that we need to resolve this and he hasn’t answered.

That was months ago. Very frustrating

FixedPoodle647
#1569667

I would love to. Haven’t found one that doesn’t want a large retainer.

sandralynndavis
#1569618

Time to lawyer up.

View more comments (4)
Review
#1366863 Review #1366863 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Bad quality

Lowes - WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! STAY AWAY

1.0
Details
I wish I had checked their reviews prior to signing a contract with them. They do not keep their word. I was told it would take six weeks for the installation to begin and ended up taking 11 weeks and I had to keep calling them every single day. Neither Lowe’s or the sub contractor ever returned my call. They installed the wrong fence the first week of June and beginning of September I am still waiting for the replacement. I will never do business with them again and any person in their right mind wouldn’t either.
View full review
Review
#1351857 Review #1351857 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Lowes in Montoursville, Pennsylvania - Waiting for fencing to be installed

1.0
Details
I had a lowes sales person come to my house in the first week of june...He told me it would be up to six weeks before instulation....really ....here it is 8/30/2018....no fencing has been installed...this is the third date for instulation...called contracter...no return call..called project manager ....yesterday and i am waiting for a instulation date...called the coporate manager today ..I AM STILL WAITING FOR A DATE....i am not happy with any of this...i will no longer deal with the project manager....my jeep is parked near the street because of how the placed the fencing pieces...my jeep is being scratched by the kids who play outside...
View full review
2 comments
h.kitchener
#1549987

Call Lowe's and cancel the order. Tell them they need to come and get their materials.

If you paid via credit card then tell them to credit the total you paid. If they don't then file a dispute, etc. for services not received. Then, find a local fence installer on your own and have it done.

Lowe's relies on the sub contractor, who appears to be unwilling, for whatever reason to actually install the fence. Not your problem.

Anonymous
#1558841
@h.kitchener

If they delivered they'll pick it up. But no refund will be made until the items are in store. That's just policy and common sense.

View more comments (1)
Review
#1342694 Review #1342694 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Lowes - Very unprofessional & unreliable

1.9
Details
Had a sales rep come out on 6/7/18 for a fence & installation quote. Ask how long it would take to install the fence & was told they were 4 weeks out & I was ok with that so fence was purchased & everything was scheduled. Subcontractor came out to remeasure the yard on 06/12/18, asked him what date the fence would be installed & he told me 7/6/18 which was around the 4 week mark that the Lowes sales rep told me so ok great! During the next few weeks there was no comminication from Lowes or the subcontractor. July 6th comes and no one shows up at the house so I call my Lowes "Project Coordinator" my call goes directly to voicemail so I leave a message. I give it 24hrs & hear nothing back so I call again and again my call goes straight to voicemail & another message is left. This pattern continues for 4 days and no one calls me back. I email my sales rep 7/10/18 who then informs me that my "Project Coordinator" is no longer employed with Lowes & I was assigned a new "Project Coordinator". He gives me the new name & phone# & tells me to call her since he's currently on vacation. I call the new "Project Coordinator" & again my calls go directly to voicemail, messages were left, & no one contacted me back. Frustrated I call Lowes customer service on 7/11/18 to see what the &*$# is going on. They have no clue & ask me to call the subcontractor. I refuse to do so because that's not my job it's theirs! They conference call the subcontractor & he's out to lunch...of course he is! He'll call me back when he gets in. About 10 minutes later the subcontractor calls me back (at least I got a call back from someone right?). He proceeds to inform me that Lowes had an issue with my order due to the fired "Project Coordinator" (seems like more people should be fired for incompetence) & that due to that & weather my fence installation would need to be changed to 8/29/18. Ok I understand, it's been really rainy and I want my fence installed properly. On 08/28/18 Lowes delivers my fence & materials in huge pallets left on my driveway. GREAT! Tomorrow my fence will finally be installed! Nope today is 8/29/18 & no one shows up to install the fence. I call the subcontractor who tells me that he has me scheduled for 9/6/18 & doesn't know where I got a schedule date of 8/29/18. I tell him that I have an email from them telling me this! He asks who the email was from & when I tell him he apologizes & says that that person is no longer with their company. OMFG!!! SERIOUSLY? So now I have huge pallets of expensive fencing materials in my driveway that I have to guard with my life for almost an entire week to ensure that no one tries to steal them because my garage is full of crates of cement. This is just inexcusable & highly unprofessional! Once my fence is installed (hopefully next week but I doubt it) I am cutting up my Lowes card & never using them again.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1572532

Exact same experience. Told on 6/14 fence would be installed in 3-4 weeks.

They attempted to deliver Materials end of August but I wouldn’t allow them to leave the materials sitting in my yard for month and half since install got pushed back to mid October. Never using Lowes again

Review
#1341684 Review #1341684 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Lowes Fence Installation
Reason of review
Order processing issue